My comics want list

So when I go haunting the local comic book shows or wander around eBay, I always have my want list on hand. I made my first want list about five or six years ago, when I plunged back into intense comic collecting and decided I wanted to have some specific comics to look for, instead of just wandering through shows, looking lost. 

Ironically, I’m now anxious to finish my want list so I can wander through shows without an agenda. Funny how things go full circle.

 Anyway, at this point, the list numbers 49 comics, which is the smallest number of comics that have ever been on my list. Maybe by next April’s Emerald City Comicon, I can get it to zero.

 Man, I am such a geek.

 Cerebus 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

I have issues 7 through 300 of Cerebus. In the ’80s, this was my favorite series, and since it was projected to run 300 issues, I decided to collect them all. Now I’m getting to the older, rarer issues that are really expensive. But if I ever do get a Cerebus #1, I don’t know what I’ll do… I might have to quit collecting if I get that one.

Daredevil 159, 168, 169, 170, 175

Frank Miller’s Daredevil. These are actually pretty easy to find, though #168 is the very expensive first appearance of Elektra. And do I need to remind you again how great these comics are?

Green Lantern (v.1) 76

Speaking of expensive, this is the first issue of the "relevant" Green Lantern/Green Arrow series that I’m actually a bit ambivalent about. And I have this comic in at least three different reprints. So why do I need to get this expensive and overrated comic that I already basically have? Do I need to see a psychologist? Seriously, is there something wrong with me?

666: Mark of the Beast 13

In the ’80s, Alan Moore was the greatest comic writer ever, and this is the last thing by him that I need. He has a little five-page story in here that’s probably not that great, but, seriously, Moore is the best. The best ever.

Supergirl (1990s) 1, 75, 76, 77, 78

The 1990s Supergirl was a reincarnated earth angel on Earth to redeem a young girl’s soul. Or something like that. It’s a really underrated series. actually, and I somehow missed the most popular and valuable issues of the series. Go figure.

Two-Fisted Tales 21

The greatest war comic ever, and the only issue I’m missing. This is classic, classic stuff.

Untold Tales of Spider-Man 13

 Mediocre but fun Spider-Man comic by Kurt Buseik, this got on my list and now I gotta finish up my run.

Creepy 41, 54, 59, 74, 91, 113, 137, 139, 141, 142

Warren Magazine produced some great magazine-sized black-and-white comics. These issues are a mix of stories written by Don McGregor, whose work I’ve always liked, and reprints of classic comics by some of the greatest cartoonists ever. Magazine-sized comics are actually quite hard to find since few people bring them to conventions.

FOOM 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 21

Marvel’s in-house fanzine was always a hoot, and I have about half of the issues of it.

Tales of the Zombie 2, 5, 6, 7, 8

Lots of great ’70s stuff by Steve Gerber, my other favorite comics writer.

Vampirella 15, 18, 106, 108

Yeah, the bikini clad creature of the night also featured some work by McGregor. Remind me sometime to talk about Dandy Don.

And that’s the 49 comics. Anyone looking to sell cheap?

Leave a Reply

